Fresh Start

I scrapped my website.

I’ve been paying for a server and hosting a eoghann.com with a WordPress blog on it for fifteen years. Before that I had another domain and a different site. At this point it’s just so much digital detritus.

I think I wrote a few good articles and posted some good photos but none of it really matters and it certainly doesn’t justify the money I was paying for the hosting every year. I made a local backup and briefly toyed with locally hosting it on my Ubuntu server, but… why bother?

There’s a lot to be said for a fresh start rather than lugging an ever growing weight behind you. There’s a notion that we should keep everything, archive everything but that presumes either that everything you do has value or that there is some way to identify the valuable. In the case of blog posts neither of those things are true.

The old blog is offline permanently and at some point I’ll redirect the domains here. What am I going to do with this new one? No idea, I’m sure I’ll think of something.

Leave a Reply

